Rainbows and Butterflies: Getting Real About Motherhood

Standard
Rainbows and Butterflies: Getting Real About Motherhood

I was really surprised at the response I got writing a blog for Greeley Moms today about being a realistic mom.  It made me realize I am blessed with friends and a circle of people who don’t pretend.  We talk about the good and the far-from-good things about parenting, and we don’t hide the tantrums (ours or the kids’) from one another.  But the comments on and about my blog post make me see that not everyone has that.  Which is really unfortunate.

Here’s the original Greeley Moms post.  Tell me what you think – are you “out” as a real mom?

A friend of mine told me recently that she likes my blog postings because I’m a “REAL mom.” This really surprised me, because I’m no more real than any of the rest of you. But what she meant was that I don’t pretend motherhood is all butterflies and rainbows. What’s unfortunate is that, that reality, that raw emoting about the ups and downs of motherhood, is not the norm…read more

One response »

  1. Pingback: National Blog Posting Month! | ...like the fish love the sea

Leave a Reply

